Getting Amazon Video and Netflix to run under 32 Bit Linux

In my attempts to do most of my personal preferences on my ThinkPad T60p running Linux Mint Mate 18 in the 32 bit variant I ran into problems. I could not get Amazon Video and Netflix working in Firefox and Chromium.

The solution seemed very simple: use Chrome instead, its built in HTML player supports everything needed for Amazon Video and Netflix. Sadly Google killed the 32 bit variant of Google Chrome in 2015. So what to do next? I found out that you still can download the latest stable 32 bit variant of Google Chrome which I did. Luckily there are some websites and repositories that still offer the package for download and I finally found it here:

http://bbgentoo.ilb.ru/distfiles/

But I am experiencing some more problems related to 32 bit Linux and I will next switch to either 64 Bit Linux Mate 18 or the latest Ubuntu to try if things work out better there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.